My Year In Review – 2010


I have had an amazing year! As I reflect over the last 12 months, I have stretched and challenged myself in ways that drew from my well of emotions.  I am grateful that today, I can identify more than 2 emotions.  I used to believe that my emotional well was dry, but it is not.  I’ve just learned to better identify them which, for me, enhances my life’s experiences.

  • Optimism / Disappointment
  • Love / Remorse
  • Submission / Awe
  • Joy / Surprise
  • Fear / Sadness
  • Delight / Excitement
  • Affection / Empathy

I ended 2009 a bit despondent.  My dear friend/sister, Christine, came to visit with me and that gave me a new perspective.  She gave me new hope and encouraged me not to quite pursuing my dreams.  She left me with a book entitled, The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle.  What I took away from that book was  living in the now is one of the truest paths to happiness and enlightenment.  I realized that I hadn’t learned how to live in the now.  I had been reflecting on the past or working toward the future to the degree that I was detached from the present.  That was a light bulb moment for me. Wow!

Interestingly, 2010 began with me opening my heart to a relationship with someone from my past.  The person was someone whom I would never have thought could or would ever become a mate because he and I were good friends.  However, I decided to test my open-mindedness and allow myself to color just outside of the lines.  I love a challenge, especially when I am challenging myself.  The friendship advanced toward a relationship, but I decided that I am better suited being single for the time being.  SSF! (Single, Sexy and Free).

By mid-year, I was feeling restless again.  Life began to feel like the ebb and not the flow.  It was time to stretch some more.  I began to take a look at ways to increase my physical health and began a boot camp fitness program.  It was rough in the beginning, but I had anticipated that it would be since it had been quite awhile since I had challenged myself physically.  My sister Arlene had embarked upon a lifestyle change and I wanted to experience some of the results that I witnessed in her.  It was the beginning of a new relationship with her as we encouraged and supported each other.  Pounds began to shed and our sisterhood went to a new level. 

I also began to further define what I wanted to do with MineYourSoul™.  I enrolled in a branding seminar that shed light on the steps I would need to take in order to take this idea to the next level.  It was a lot of information that I had to digest, but I was grateful for the exposure.  That’s when I decided to begin this blog.

Christine and I decided to start a weekly women’s forum entitled TOTALPackage™, which was designed to assist us (women) in Taking Ourselves To Another Level by consistently cultivating a healthy mind, body and spirit.  The creation/development process was amazing, and an experience that I will never forget.  I couldn’t have done it without her and I am honored and blessed to be able to co-host these calls with her each week.  This experience stretched me in all the right ways.  I began to walk the talk more consistently as I entered a new chapter in my life.  When you step outside of yourself and your comfort zone in order to help others, you will be amazed by your growth.

Shortly after launching the TPForum, I had to make a decision that was not very easy for me.  It wasn’t easy because after investing quite a bit of time and resources into a business opportunity, I was presented with another opportunity that was more aligned with the woman I had become.  It felt right.  It felt real.  I couldn’t ignore that the time to ACT was now.  I discussed this with my close confidant and decided to walk down the aisle with this new opportunity.  How ironic was it that the company’s name is Compass?  A personal development company dedicated to helping women live their best lives!  Making the decision to partner with Compass became the springboard that I needed to leap from where I was currently (with all of my life experiences coupled with new, richer resources) to a place where I could truly help those whom God placed in my path.  Talk About Amazing!?!?   Taking a step into the unknown had many benefits.When we walk to the edge of all the light we have and take the step into the darkness of the unknown, we must believe that one of two things will happen. There will be something solid for us to stand on or we will be taught to fly.”  That just about sums up my year.  Taking one step at a time into the darkness of the unknown and being taught to stand or how to fly.  Facing my fears and doubts is uncomfortable, but so very rewarding.

Lastly, I lost a very special person in my life on December 4, 2010.  Her name is Geraldine Chalklett.  Although she was in my life for a short time, she was rooted in my heart.  She has left me with a lifetime of love, laughter and memories, and a deepened desire to be of service.  I am grateful that I had a glimpse of an Angel right here on earth.  They do walk among us and if you are not careful, you will mistake them for just an Extraordinary person.  But, if you take a closer look, you will catch a reflection of who you, too, could become.  It was a privilege to have known you, loved you and learned from you.  Rest in peace Geraldine Chalklett (December 3, 1945 – December 4, 2010).

Leave a Reply

